Trinidad News, Tobago News

Welcome to Breaking News Trinidad and Tobago
Thursday, October 19 2017 @ 09:42 PM AST

Flood victims in central and south Trinidad receive grants through NCSH

General News

The National Commission for Self-Help Limited handed out 250 Minor Repair and Reconstruction Grants to flood victims from central and south Trinidad, in the Siparia constituency of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar this morning (Tuesday December 21, 2010).

Community Development Minister, the Honourable Nizam Baksh attended the ceremony at the Prime Ministerís constituency office, where he made brief remarks and distributed the grants, valued at $3 million. The NCSH also gave out 60 food hampers each valued at $300, to needy families in the area.

Other dignitaries present were Trade and Industry Minister Stephen Cadiz, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of the Arts and Multiculturalism Nela Khan, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs Stacy Roopnarine and San Fernando Mayor, Marlene Coudray.

The Prime Minister, in her brief address, commended the Community Development Ministry and the NCSH for the effort, saying some of her constituents had to wait as long as ten years for assistance. She also noted that such events could help in the ongoing fight against crime.

It is the second of three grant distribution ceremonies being hosted by the NCSH. The first was held at the Divali Nagar site in Chaguanas on Friday December 17, 2010, when 300 grants were handed out. The final event is tentatively carded for early January 2011 in Tobago, where 60 grants and 20 food hampers will be distributed. Through the Minor Repairs and Reconstruction Grant, the Community Development Ministry, through the NCSH has been able to bring relief to families across Trinidad and Tobago within seven days in instances of damage to homes after a natural disaster. In the past, applicants had to wait several months for assistance.

The National Commission for Self-Help Limited was established by the Cabinet of the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago on April 7, 1987 and was registered as a State owned Company on April 14, 1997. The idea of self-help was to encourage communities to rely on the resources available and take charge of themselves. Its objectives are: to provide communities with infrastructural amenities and to educate communities on the values of self-help and self-reliance.

In photo: Community Development Minister, the Honourable Nizam Baksh (second from right) hands out grant to one of the flood victims at the Divali Nagar site in Chaguanas on December 17, 2010. Also in photo, at right is St. Annís East MP Joanne Thomas and MP for Port of Spain North/St. Annís West Patricia McIntosh (second from left).

CREDITS: Information sourced through the NCSH
Photo courtesy the Ministry of Community Development

Story Options