Trinidad News, Tobago News

Welcome to Breaking News Trinidad and Tobago
Friday, October 20 2017 @ 12:52 AM AST

Minister Baksh, NCSH to deliver grants to flood victims in Tobago

General News

Community Development Minister, the Honourable Nizam Baksh and the National Commission for Self-Help Limited will distribute 60 Minor Repairs and Reconstruction Grants to flood victims in Tobago on Wednesday December 29, 2010. The ceremony is set to take place at the Ministry of Works and Transport building at Shaw Park from 1:30 pm. A total of 40 hampers will also be handed out to needy families in the sister isle.

NCSH chairman Surujdeo Mangaroo will make the opening remarks followed by brief comments from Tobago House of Assembly Chief Secretary Orville London. Minister Baksh will then deliver the feature address, before handing out the grants.

It is the third of three grant distribution ceremonies hosted by the NCSH in the past eight days. The first was held at the Divali Nagar Site in Chaguanas on December 17, 2010, followed by another at the constituency office of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar in Siparia on December 21, 2010.

By distribution of the Minor Repairs and Reconstruction Grants, the Community Development Ministry, through the NCSH has been able to bring relief to families across Trinidad and Tobago within seven days in instances of damage to homes after a natural disaster. In the past, applicants had to wait several months for assistance.

The National Commission for Self-Help Limited was established by the Cabinet of the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago on April 7, 1987 and was registered as a State owned Company on April 14, 1997. The idea of self-help was to encourage communities to rely on the resources available and take charge of themselves. Its objectives are: to provide communities with infrastructural amenities and to educate communities on the values of self-help and self-reliance.

In photo: Community Development Minister the Honourable Nizam Baksh (right) delivers grant to flood victim during NCSH grant distribution ceremony in Chaguanas on December 21, 2010. Also in photo from right, Joanne Thomas, MP for St. Annís East, Patricia McIntosh, MP for Port of Spain North/St. Annís West and NCSH chairman Surujdeo Mangaroo.

CREDITS: Information sourced from the NCSH
Photo courtesy the Ministry of Community Development

Story Options