Trinidad News, Tobago News

Welcome to Breaking News Trinidad and Tobago
Friday, October 20 2017 @ 01:03 AM AST

Cayman Islands 2017 elections results: McLaughlin to return as Premier

From Governor Helen Kilpatrick (right), May 29, 2017:

"This afternoon I met with elected representatives Honourable Alden McLaughlin, Jr, MBE, Honourable McKeeva Bush, OBE, Mr Moses Kirkconnell, JP, Mr Austin Harris and Captain Eugene Ebanks. Mr McLaughlin provided me with evidence that he had sufficient support to form a "Government of National Unity".

Accordingly, I have signed the proclamation to a call a session of the Legislative Assembly for 10:00am Wednesday, 31st May 2017 for the purposes of swearing in all newly elected and appointed Members of the Legislative Assembly, voting for a Premier pursuant to section 49 (3) of the Constitution of the Cayman Islands, and other attendant matters. Mr McLaughlin has indicated that he will be seeking election to the position of Premier and Mr Bush to Speaker of the House."

UP TO MAY 27, 2017 @ 1:33 PM:

Mckeeva Bush will be sworn in as the Cayman Islands new premier on Wednesday, after the minority opposition party (3/19 seats) struck a deal with independents (9/19 seats) late last night.

Mckeeva Bush, Cayman Islands Premier 2017-2021

Up until last night, it remained unknown who would be the next Premier of the Cayman Islands as 9 of the 19 seats were won by independents. The Progressives won 7 seats and the CDP 3. The Progressives is led by incumbent Premier Alden McLaughlin. At least three would have to support McLaughlin for him to stay in power. The new Cayman Premier is due to be sworn in Wednesday, May 31, 2017, for a four-year term.

The following is the full list of winners from the Cayman Islands elections 2017 as supplied by the Government Information Service:

All the election results were in officially before midnight, in a count that saw 13 incumbents and six newcomers win 19 seats, that were contested for the first time as all single member districts.

The winners are:

West Bay North - Bernie Bush, CDP

West Bay West - McKeeva Bush, CDP

West Bay Central - Capt. Eugene Ebanks, CDP

West Bay South - Tara Rivers, Ind

George Town North - Joey Hew, Progressives

George Town West - David Wight, Progressives

George Town Central - Kenneth Bryan, Ind

George Town South - Barbara Conolly, Progressives

George Town East - Roy McTaggart, Progressives

Red Bay - Alden McLaughlin, Progressives

Prospect - Austin Harris, Ind

Savannah - Anthony Eden, Ind

Newlands - Alva Suckoo, Ind

Bodden Town West - Christopher Saunders, Ind

Bodden Town East - Dwayne Seymour, Ind

North Side - Ezzard Miller, Ind

East End - Arden McLean, Ind

Cayman Brac West and Little Cayman - Moses Kirkconnell, Progressives

Cayman Brac East - Juliana O'Connor Connolly, Progressives.

For more details on the vote, visit



* ELECTION UPDATE:From 4pm to 5p.m., 249 Votes were cast at 19 polling stations; ie, the total Votes Cast so far =13,431 (63.3% of Electorate)

* UPDATE 3:38 PM: "Elections Supervisor reported nearly 30% of the electors had cast their votes in the first three hours of voting."

* 11:00 AM: The Cayman Islands elections results are expected to begin to be counted from around 6 pm today and end around midnight, Cayman Islands Elections Office 2017 Supervisor of Elections Wesley Howell told Cayman radio this morning. He said that in the first hour, the Elections Office saw a 10% voter turnout, which is high and in line with expectations for the U.K. territory's customary 70-80% voter turnout. Updates will be added to this story as they come in.


Elections staff deployed with clockwork precision starting from 4 am this morning (Wednesday, 24 May 2017). The poll staff along with all logistical staff loaded up the empty ballot boxes along with all the necessary paraphernalia on to individual vans and deployed to the 17 polling stations on Grand Cayman, with those going to North Side and East End moving out first.

Also present at the Elections Office on Smith Road were local poll observers Mr. Jennison Nunez, Mr. Renard Moxam and Mr. Eldon Whittaker who were ready to start their visits of all the polling stations during the entire day of voting all around Grand Cayman to observe and report to the Supervisor of Elections.

At the Government Administration Building, the Elections Command Centre, the tech rooms and the Media Centre were also open and manned from 4 am for the 7 am start of polling.

"I am very pleased at the roll out - everything is going smoothly as planned and organised," commented Supervisor of Elections, Mr. Wesley Howell.

Story Options